Skip to main content
NatureWise

How Erythritol is Made

Erythritol occurs naturally in a wide variety of foods, including mushrooms, cheeses, and fruits like pears, watermelon, and grapes. Because it is only found in small amounts in these foods, it is commercially produced by fermenting the natural sugar found in corn. In a natural, chemical-free process, the plant starch is mixed with water, fermented, heated, and purified. The final step is crystallization, where the broth is cooled and sugar-free crystals form. The result is a natural product that is over 99% pure, with zero fillers and no artificial additives. Because it is made from corn, it is suitable for gluten-free diets and for vegetarians.

  • Was this article helpful?